Posted by: Amanda | January 25, 2011

Falling in love with Dr. Seuss

“Say!
In the dark?
Here in the dark!
Would you, could you, in the dark?”

–Dr. Seuss

It’s a good thing I didn’t like Dr. Seuss when I was a kid. Now that I’m a parent, I’m reading all the books (over and over again) to my kids. Dalton, my 6-year old son, is completely head-over-heels for anything Seuss. And my 2-year old Lily begs for the books, too. And, I have fallen for the crazed worlds, made-up words, tongue twisters, and surprise endings that Seuss stories guarantee. I think I always thought he was just silly but now I realize that he was an amazingly talented man with lots of weird characters and stories in his head. And, he was able to get them out on paper. Genius word play. Genius artwork. I’m smitten.

A day in our life usually involves watching the PBS show Cat in the Hat (based on Seuss characters). We read at least one Seuss book a day. (Dalton who is learning to read has memorized many of the books thanks to audiobooks, so sometimes–thankfully–he reads the books or at least certain pages to us. And I sit back and smile and catch my breath for the next tongue twister.) I see Dalton’s imagination growing and growing as he reads Dr. Seuss. He realizes it’s OK to make up crazy things that don’t exist. He’s even invented a new Star Wars Jedi. Details on that later, perhaps.

Seuss has even crept into our meal plan. Dalton doesn’t like ham, so it’s usually a green eggs and waffles or green eggs and biscuits or just green eggs. He doesn’t know that there’s spinach in the eggs. I think he honestly, truly, completely believes the eggs come out of the chicken green. While making our grocery list, I asked if  he wanted anything in particular store. He said, “Get some green eggs. We only have the regular kind. I checked.”

Dalton digs the green eggs.

“I do so like
green eggs and ham!
Thank you!
Thank you,
Sam-I-am.”

–Dr. Seuss

Responses

  1. This is Eli, too, and like you, I’ve come to respect Dr. Suess. I see all kinds of smart insights (e.g.”It’s fun to have fun but you have to know how.”), sound messages, and creative thinking when I read his stuff now. But I’m starting to loathe his tongue twisters. As of late, I’ve been fantasizing about donating Fox in Socks somewhere so some other suck, I mean, good parent can try to read that thing out loud.

    • I’ll trade you Fox in Socks for Oh Say Can You Say?, whatddya say?


Leave a Reply

Categories

